outwait outrun outwit





TALES OF AN ORANGEPEELER

an archive of pleasures, wounds, sublimations
& other curiosities :: profile


10.05.07, friday evening

"I talked to him some years ago. He was very, very uplifting, a happy man, actually. He was fooling around, very light-spirited, playful. He gave me a lot of good advice, such as how to handle success, and how to handle failure. I remember every word of it. He asked me if I'd decided what to do after my film, and when I said no, he said, 'Well you're fucked,' and I said, 'Why?' and he said, 'One thing that can happen is that you fail, and it won't be good for your self-confidence. It's much worse if you have success--you're absolutely paralysed by it. So you always have to decide your next movie before the opening of the present one.' And he was so right. You don't turn into a career pilot, trying to navigate by success or failure, instead of deciding from your heart."




<<

hosted by DiaryLand.com

free
web stats