outwait outrun outwit





TALES OF AN ORANGEPEELER

an archive of pleasures, wounds, sublimations
& other curiosities :: profile


10.27.11


Tonight is the perfect autumn night, chilly and quiet and dark after the new moon in Scorpio. I grill cheese on toast in my dimly lit kitchen and consume it with a glass of ale in my little nest on the couch, surrounded by notes and papers and books. The sulphurous lights of the port of Galway burn, steady as ever. I am reminded of the port in Oakland, where I lived for several years and where my thoughts return tonight.

"The tradition of the oppressed teaches us that the �state of emergency� in which we live is not the exception but the rule. We must attain to a conception of history that is in keeping with this insight." - Walter Benjamin, "On the Concept of History"




<<

hosted by DiaryLand.com

free
web stats