outwait outrun outwit





TALES OF AN ORANGEPEELER

an archive of pleasures, wounds, sublimations
& other curiosities :: profile


03.14.20

The storms that have been wracking Ireland in the past month or so no longer feature in our newsfeed. On Thursday the government shut down the schools, museums, libraries, childcare facilities, etc. No St. Patrick Day's parades to brighten the cities and villages of this island. No masses, either. Weddings cancelled, maybe to the relief of some pocketbooks. No one will shake the hands in commiseration at funerals. I expect the VFI to inform our pub to close next week, and the hashtag closethepubs is trending on twitter.

I've been re-reading The Decameron: seven young women and three young men hole themselves up in a villa during a plague outbreak, to while away the time telling stories to each other. I read, believing I protect my mental health with stories, and I hope you all are taking care of yourselves in this way too.




<<

hosted by DiaryLand.com

free
web stats