outwait outrun outwit





TALES OF AN ORANGEPEELER

an archive of pleasures, wounds, sublimations
& other curiosities :: profile


03.17.21

I wasn't surprised by what happened in Atlanta. For the last year, as Trump moaned on and on about the "China virus", anti-Asian violence rose. But this isn't a new or isolated phenomenon. I think of all the microaggressions, verbal assaults, and physical threats experienced by Asian friends over the years. Of my own encounters, while minding my own fucking business. Asian communities in the US have been feeling the sting of white supremacy since arrival. Not to mention the legacy of US imperialism in Asia. (When Henry Kissinger finally goes, I'll be the first to dance on his grave.) As my mother can say to America: 'I'm here because you were there.'




<<

hosted by DiaryLand.com

Web Analytics Made Easy -
StatCounter