outwait outrun outwit





TALES OF AN ORANGEPEELER

an archive of pleasures, wounds, sublimations
& other curiosities :: profile


08.19.21

Body, what is up with you? I wake up exhausted each morning. My teeth are sore; I must be grinding them in my sleep, and there’s a new, weird lump just above the jaw that I jiggle when I’m lost in thought. At least I no longer yearn for a cigarette.

//

When I meet people for the first time in ages, it often feels as if we’re trying to figure out how to communicate with each other. As if we’ve been away for a long time, each in our own distant and strange, intensely private country.

Sometimes that country was illness. On my walk today, I met Goran, our sometime-neighbor, sweeping up cuttings from his hedge. He was back in Ireland for the first time since spring. Between spring and this visit, he had a stroke, a (very rare) reaction to his second vaccination. He couldn’t talk or move for months. His hair is grey now, but otherwise he looked the same.

//

"is it burnout? ADHD? the trauma of an ongoing pandemic? capitalism? climate crisis?

"Just kidding it's all of these things and the only answer I've got for us is 'go lay down'" —@samdylanfinch




<<

hosted by DiaryLand.com

real time web analytics