outwait outrun outwit





TALES OF AN ORANGEPEELER

an archive of pleasures, wounds, sublimations
& other curiosities :: profile


02.01.23

Books I brought to Lanzarote:
- Ruth Ozeki, The Book of Form and Emptiness
- Amina Cain, A Horse at Night: On Writing; I enjoyed her novel Indelicacy, about a woman who writes about art first as a museum cleaner and then as the wife of a wealthy man.
- Jessica Au, Cold Enough for Snow; my friend the novelist (her book featured on last year's New York Times's 10 Best Books of the Year list) said the writing reminded her of mine.
- Stig Dagerman, A Moth to a Flame; for the husband
- Kazuo Ishiguro, The Buried Giant
- Phillip K Dick, The Man in the High Castle
- Len Deighton, Berlin Game

The last three books were bought at a shop in Belfast International Airport. I am always afraid of running out of reading material. I even googled "English-language bookshops in Lanzarote" the afternoon before we left. At least I remembered to leave behind my library card this time.




<<

hosted by DiaryLand.com

real time web analytics