outwait outrun outwit





TALES OF AN ORANGEPEELER

an archive of pleasures, wounds, sublimations
& other curiosities :: profile


02.03.23

"Now I am like the Fisherman's wife. I want more. And not just another summer, or two or three or four. I want Apollo to live as long as I do."--Sigrid Nunez, The Friend, cited by Amina Cain, A Horse at Night

I wonder how the dog fares back home. Sam looked worried as he watched us pack for Lanzarote from his chair, head on paws, eyes moving from human to luggage to human. He knew something was up. How an animal observes us, and knows us in its own way.

I enjoyed Cain's book. It's one for writers, but also for readers, for lovers of writing, of intimate observations on relationships, solitude, spaces, animals, aging, plants, more, more, the world and the universe. I think I will return to this book for years to come.





<<

hosted by DiaryLand.com

real time web analytics