outwait outrun outwit





TALES OF AN ORANGEPEELER

an archive of pleasures, wounds, sublimations
& other curiosities :: profile


02.28.23


On Sunday night the aurora borealis was spotted (as if a mythical creature!) from Rosses Point, Mullaghmore, Bundoran, Glencar, Ballinaglera, places I have visited, or where the husband's auntie and uncle lived. Photos of red and green stained skies appeared on FB and RTE, with promises there'd be another show on Monday night. Only it was cloudy all day and into the night, and no one in Ireland saw it except maybe one woman on Achill Island. I was so disappointed, I stood over the stove, eating mint ice cream from a tub.

//

I wonder what I wanted when I wanted to see the Northern Lights. I wanted, perhaps, to feel my melancholy of the past few weeks fade away, overcome by euphoria.




<<

hosted by DiaryLand.com

real time web analytics