outwait outrun outwit





TALES OF AN ORANGEPEELER

an archive of pleasures, wounds, sublimations
& other curiosities :: profile


10.01.06, sunday morning

Instead of the thousand and one things I should be doing, I am thinking about this quote from Nietzsche by Alain de Botton in The Art of Travel:

"When we observe how some people know how to manage their experiences--so that they become an arable soil that bears fruit three times a year--while others--and how many there are!--are driven through surging waves of destiny, the most multifarious currents of the times and the nations, and yet always remain on top, bobbing like a cork, then we are in the end tempted to divide mankind into a minority (a minimality) of those who know how to make much of little, and a majority of those who know how to make little of much."

I would probably fall into the first category, that minority, and is it this inclination that makes me a trouble-maker, no-good-doer, and ne'er-do-well layabout? Perhaps that is why I am writing here vs. doing those thousand and one things I "should" do.




<<

hosted by DiaryLand.com

free
web stats