outwait outrun outwit





TALES OF AN ORANGEPEELER

an archive of pleasures, wounds, sublimations
& other curiosities :: profile


06.03.22


Weird or random things: invitation to talk about photobook at the Hugh Lane Gallery in Dublin; extraction of tooth required (just before I found out, I noted, bemusedly, a woven copy of one of the Unicorn Tapestries hanging in the waiting room), a commission for a text on creative visual art practices in the northwest by the editor of the Visual Artists Newssheet, which is read by every artist, curator, and arts centre director in the country.

Good things: a gorgeous Parker pen from a friend for helping her with her artist statement, free orange cake to go with my coffee at the castle cafe, rocket and strawberries from the garden of friends after I weeded their garden tiles.

//

I was very upset after reading about the verdict in the Amber Heard-Johnny Depp case. I don't usually pay to celebrity legal cases, but I was really bothered by all the vitriol that was heaped on Heard. Nevermind the fact that a UK judge ruled that most of the incidents of domestic assault against Heard had occurred. (Depp, by the way, is due to appear in court again next month for an alleged assault on a crew member, hmm.) Of course the verdict will only reaffirm women's fears that if they speak out, no one will believe them.

I thought of the fallout after my first marriage ended. The ex wasn't physically abusive, but yeah, there was emotional abuse and controlling behavior, which he later blamed on his alcoholism and bipolar disorder. Beyond my closest friends, I never mentioned the nature of this relationship. It wasn't anyone else's business but mine. Moreover, I wouldn't dare. He was so charismatic and charming and I am terribly shy, often inscrutable, who would people believe? Shortly after we separated, a mutual acquaintance told me, glaring, "Don't you dare hurt him." How many other people viewed me as the malefactor? Later he apologised; he too had been burned by the ex, who changed his email login details and wrecked havoc on his pub website after a dispute. Too late, my ex-friend.




<<

hosted by DiaryLand.com

real time web analytics