outwait outrun outwit





TALES OF AN ORANGEPEELER

an archive of pleasures, wounds, sublimations
& other curiosities :: profile


06.16.23


God, I'm so restless. I decided to stay in for the night, bilious after too many tacos and, frankly, exhausted by all the crowds, innumerable shop windows, ubiquitous cars, and traffic lights, I'm not used to them after seven years in a one traffic light town.

As soon as the husband left, I regretted not going out. Unable to focus on my book, I pace around the ex's house, drinking resiny Lithuanian liqueur, smoking too much, and generally not knowing what to do with myself. I even contemplated taking a bath, only the bathtub looks dangerous. I'd go out on my own to wander, but it's raining and while rain can invigorate while walking the dog, I'm like a cat when I'm on my own.

If only the rain would turn into a thunderstorm, it would feel like, I dunno, something is happening, something novel and exciting.

However it is very likely I am just missing the husband's company. He is, after all, like a thunderstorm.




<<

hosted by DiaryLand.com

real time web analytics