outwait outrun outwit





TALES OF AN ORANGEPEELER

an archive of pleasures, wounds, sublimations
& other curiosities :: profile


09.02.23


Walking the dog yesterday afternoon, I passed the Mummer dude getting out of his car. The Mummer is this barefoot Gaeilgeoir crusty who is infamous for shouting all sorts of alt-right garbage at the crossroads while banging a drum, straw mummer's hat drawn to his shoulders. Propped against the car was a handwritten sign: "DEPORT RAPIST REFUGEES". I was so angry, I said aloud to myself, "What a prick!" He turned to look at me, and I growled, "Asshole!" and walked on. Afterwards he stood at the crossroads, banging his stupid drum, but the guards quickly shooed him away.

Later I saw him conferring with the dudes by the old courthouse, who stand there with a shaggy Irish wolfhound every Friday for an hour under Palestinian flags, this time with a sign, "Keep our men home to defend the homeland." Geez Louise, what a confused lot.




<<

hosted by DiaryLand.com

real time web analytics