outwait outrun outwit





TALES OF AN ORANGEPEELER

an archive of pleasures, wounds, sublimations
& other curiosities :: profile


09.13.23


I practice Portuguese every day. I am just learning enough to exist in the present tense. But at least it distracts me from smoking. (Yes, Ernst, 46 is possibly the perfect age to quit smoking!)

I start to think of the things around me in Portuguese. Meu cachorro, meu homen, minha casa. Eu preciso de ... To think of, because my pronunciation is dreadful. Nevertheless I wonder if any of this is changing my brain.

The other day I said to the husband I might try Khmer or Irish after our trip to Portugal at the end of this month. He pointed out that I wouldn't use Khmer much here. Then I checked on Duolingo: no Khmer language lessons available. So Irish it is. And my parents' culture retreats further and further away.





<<

hosted by DiaryLand.com

real time web analytics