outwait outrun outwit





TALES OF AN ORANGEPEELER

an archive of pleasures, wounds, sublimations
& other curiosities :: profile


12.17.23

Last night over drinks, my companions mentioned how their associates are no craic ever since they joined the Hyrox "cult". They don't go out; they just exercise. Looking up the sport or whatever it is via Google, I thought it all seems so joylessly effortful.

Sometimes I wish I hadn't quit fencing in university. I didn't want to attend the required weekend competitions because I was writing my PhD thesis* ... but I do wish I could repeatedly stab something (ok, a person) with a sword ... and then finish a session with a dry gin martini, a la James Bond.

_________________________________________

*plus the club uniforms had not been washed in DECADES




<<

hosted by DiaryLand.com

real time web analytics