outwait outrun outwit





TALES OF AN ORANGEPEELER

an archive of pleasures, wounds, sublimations
& other curiosities :: profile


01.19.24


After last night’s snowfall, premature cherry blossoms froze on the stem.

Meanwhile plans are being drawn and executed in minute stages. Change is rarely dramatic but incremental, barely measurable: fifteen minutes of yoga every day, notes jotted here and there, conversations in cafes during which an idea emerges and takes root. Muscles are strengthened, a composition attains shape, circumstances dissolve into new ones. I trot around town, feeling light, feeling as if a turn had finally come.

A niggling thought: this is possibly a feeling as premature as cherry blossoms in January.

//

Post arrived from Canada: a book (Billy-Ray Belcourt's A History of My Brief Body) and tidings on beautiful cards. They had moved south of Vancouver, close to water, and plan to open a gallery in their house. Post is magic, a spell of paper and ink that has travelled thousands of miles into my hands. I thought to myself: I am tired of social media. I want to write a letter, for the first time in months. Enclose a drawing or a collage or a book—traces of my desiring and creative body.




<<

hosted by DiaryLand.com

real time web analytics